Justin Blackmon on 2024 Ballot for College Football Hall of Fame

The College Football Hall of Fame on Monday unveiled its list of candidates for enshrinement as part of the 2024 class, and Oklahoma State landed one name — and a big one for a second consecutive year — on the ballot in former standout receiver Justin Blackmon.

The 78-player list has just nine receivers on the ballot, with Blackmon and Larry Fitzgerald headlining the candidates along with Marvin Harrison, among others. Blackmon is the only of the nine receivers (and one of only two in college football history — humble brag!) to twice win the Biletnikoff Award, given annually to the best college football wide receiver, an award that began in 1994.

Blackmon is also one of the youngest candidates, this coming as just his second time on the ballot after appearing last year and not getting enshrined.

OSU has seven representatives in the College Football Hall of Fame after the induction of former OSU star Terry Miller last year. Blackmon would join an illustrious group of former Cowboys in the Hall of Fame that includes Miller, Lynn “Pappy” Waldorf, Bob Fenimore, Barry Sanders, Thurman Thomas, coach Jimmy Johnson and Leslie O’Neal.