OSU Baseball: Five Cowboys Named to All-Big 12 First Team

The Cowboys had a bit of a disappointing end to the regular season, but their solid overall body of work is well represented in the conference awards.

Five Oklahoma State baseball players were named All-Big 12 First Team selections Tuesday, and another two were on the All-Freshman Team.

Jake Thompson, Griffin Doersching, Nolan McLean, Justin Campbell and Roman Phansalkar were all First Team selections, while Roc Riggio and Zach Ehrhard made the Freshman Team.

An outfielder, Thompson hit a team-best .359 during the regular season to go with 54 RBIs and 13 home runs, also both team bests. He had team bests, or tied team bests, in hits (75), doubles (16), triples (2), OPS (1.108), walks drawn (39) and on-base percentage (.467).

Doersching missed a chunk of the season with a foot injury, but he was so good when he played that it didn’t matter. He hit .295 on the season with 43 RBIs and 11 home runs. Six of his home runs came in May. His .656 slugging percentage led all Cowboys.

McLean not only made the First Team as a utility player, he also made the Second Team as a pitcher and was an honorable mention infielder. He is a sophomore, but they might as well have put him on the All-Freshman Team. He finished the regular season hitting .285, tying Thompson for a team-lead in home runs with 13. He also had 38 RBIs and 15 doubles. On the mound, McLean had a 4.09 ERA. He was 1-1 on the year with five saves.

OSU’s ace, Campbell had a 3.71 ERA through his 87 1/3 innings of work in the regular season. His 123 strikeouts led the Big 12 by 27. He is 8-2 on the season.

A relief pitcher, Phansalkar had a breakout year for the Pokes. He has a 2.51 ERA in 46 2/3 innings of work. He finished the regular season 5-2.

On the All-Freshman Team, Ehrhard had a .332 batting average, trailing only Thompson among Cowboys with more than 30 at-bats. Ehrhard led the Cowboys with 52 runs scored and 17 stolen bases.

Riggio finished his first regular season batting .247 with 28 RBIs. He had eight doubles and six home runs.

Here is a full look at this season’s Big 12 awards (* = unanimous selection).

All-Big 12 Baseball Awards
Player of the Year: Ivan Melendez, Texas
Pitcher of the Year: Brandon Birdsell, Texas Tech
Freshman of the Year: Hudson White, Texas Tech
Newcomer of the Year: Blake Robertson, Oklahoma
Coach of the Year: Kirk Saarloos, TCU

First Team All-Big 12
C: Silas Ardoin, Texas
IF: Maui Ahuna, Kansas
IF: Peyton Graham, Oklahoma
IF: Tommy Sacco, TCU
IF: Ivan Melendez, Texas*
IF: Jace Jung, Texas Tech
OF: Jake Thompson, Oklahoma State
OF: Murphy Stehly, Texas
OF: Austin Davis, West Virginia
DH: Griffin Doersching, Oklahoma State
UT: Nolan McLean, Oklahoma State
SP: Jake Bennett, Oklahoma
SP: Justin Campbell, Oklahoma State
SP: Pete Hansen, Texas*
SP: Brandon Birdsell, Texas Tech
RP: Roman Phansalkar, Oklahoma State
RP: Luke Savage, TCU
RP: Trey Braithwaite, West Virginia
*- Unanimous selection

Second Team All-Big 12
C: Hudson White, Texas Tech
IF: Blake Robertson, Oklahoma
IF: Brayden Taylor, TCU
IF: Trey Faltine, Texas
IF: Skyler Messinger, Texas
IF: Cole Stilwell, Texas Tech
IF: Kurt Wilson, Texas Tech
OF: Jared McKenzie, Baylor
OF: Tanner Tredaway, Oklahoma
OF: Easton Murrell, Texas Tech
DH: McGwire Holbrook, West Virginia
UT: Dylan Phillips, Kansas State
SP: Riley Cornelio, TCU
SP: Marcelo Perez, TCU
SP: Lucas Gordon, Texas
SP: Andrew Morris, Texas Tech
RP: Trevin Michael, Oklahoma
RP: Nolan McLean, Oklahoma State

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention
Baylor: Cam Caley, Kyle Nevin, Jack Pineda, Tre Richardson, Tyler Thomas
Kansas: Daniel Hegarty, Tavian Josenberger, Nolan Metcalf, Caleb Upshaw
Kansas State: Kaelen Culpepper, Nick Goodwin, Dominic Johnson
Oklahoma: Jimmy Crooks
Oklahoma State: Marcus Brown, Trevor Martin, Nolan McLean (IF), David Mendham, Hueston Morrill, Bryce Osmond
TCU: Luke Boyers, Kurtis Byrne, Elijah Nunez, River Ridings, Garrett Wright
Texas: Douglas Hodo III, Austin Todd
Texas Tech: Derek Bridges, Ty Coleman, Parker Kelly, Owen Washburn
West Virginia: Ben Hampton, Noah Short, Jacob Watters, JJ Wetherholt

Big 12 All-Freshman Team
Kaelen Culpepper, Kansas State
Wallace Clark, Oklahoma*
Cade Horton, Oklahoma
Jackson Nicklaus, Oklahoma*
Roc Riggio, Oklahoma State
Zach Ehrhard, Oklahoma State*
David Bishop, TCU*
Mason Molina, Texas Tech
Owen Washburn, Texas Tech*
Hudson White, Texas Tech*
Chris Sleeper, West Virginia
JJ Wetherholt, West Virginia*
*- Unanimous selection

Big 12 Tournament Info

The post OSU Baseball: Five Cowboys Named to All-Big 12 First Team appeared first on Pistols Firing.